The Council of Commissioners develops a broad vision of the Board, focuses on policy-making, sets organizational objectives and reviews them on a regular basis with a goal to provide the best possible learning conditions for students. It is made up of 10 publicly elected commissioners as well as 4 parent commissioners at the elementary and secondary levels.

It is the elected council of commissioners which runs the affairs of the EMSB and oversees a budget of more than $280 million. The funds are supplied through grants from the provincial government and, to a lesser extent, through local school taxation. EMSB schools and centres work in conjunction with governing boards.

The Council of Commissioners meet once a month during regular Board meetings, normally held on the fourth Wednesday of the month, special Board meetings are called as needed.  Meetings are always open to members of the public.

Council of Commissioners

Member of:
  • Executive Committee (Chair)
Agostino Cannavino
Agostino Cannavino, Vice Chair
Member of:
  • Executive Committee
Ward 1
Member of:
  • Executive Committee
  • Carlyle Elementary School
  • Coronation Elementary School
  • Dunrae Gardens Elementary School
  • Sinclair Laird Elementary School
  • St. Raphael Elementary School
  • Marymount Academy International
  • Programme Mile End
  • Sir Mortimer B. Davis
Ward 2
  • Edinburgh Elementary School
  • Elizabeth Ballantyne Elementary School
  • Royal Vale Elementary School
  • St. Monica Elementary School
  • Willingdon Elementary School - Senior Campus
  • Willingdon Elementary School - Junior Campus
  • FOCUS High School
  • Outreach High School
  • Royal Vale High School
  • Royal West Academy
  • Mackay Centre
  • Philip E. Layton School
  • Shadd Health & Business Centre
Ward 3
Member of:
  • Governance & Ethics Committee (Chair)
  • Roslyn Elementary School
  • St. Gabriel Elementary School
  • Westmount Park Elementary School
  • Elizabeth High School
  • James Lyng High School
  • Options High School
  • Venture High School
  • Vezina High School
  • Westmount High School
  • James Lyng Adult Education Centre
  • The Montreal Children's Hospital
Ward 4
Member of:
  • Governance & Ethics Committee
  • Hampstead Elementary School
  • Merton Elementary School
  • John Grant High School
  • Mountainview High School
  • Wagar Adult Education Centre
Ward 5
Member of:
  • Executive Committee
  • Cedarcrest Elementary School
  • Gardenview Elementary School
  • LaurenHill Academy Junior Campus
  • LaurenHill Academy Senior Campus
  • Parkdale Elementary School
  • St. Laurent Adult Education Centre
Ward 6
Member of:
  • Executive Committee
  • Bancroft Elementary School
  • F.A.C.E. Elementary School
  • Nesbitt Elementary School
  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau Elementary School
  • F.A.C.E. High School
  • John F. Kennedy High School
  • M.I.N.D. High School
  • Perspectives I High School
  • Perspectives II High School
  • Rosemount High School
  • HSM Adult Education Centre
  • John F. Kennedy Adult Education Centre
  • Rosemount Technology Centre - Main Campus
Ward 7
  • John Caboto Academy
  • Our Lady of Pompei Elementary School
  • L.I.N.K.S. High School
  • Lester B. Pearson High School
  • Galileo Adult Education Centre
  • Rosemount Technology Centre - Curtis George Campus
  • St. Pius X Career Centre
  • Gerald McShane Elementary School
Ward 8
Member of:
  • Governance & Ethics Committee (Vice-Chair)
  • Dante Elementary School
  • Honoré Mercier Elementary School
  • Pierre de Coubertin Elementary School
  • Laurier Macdonald High School
  • Laurier Macdonald Career Centre - Main Campus
  • Laurier Macdonald Career Centre - Des Grandes Prairies Campus
Ward 9
Member of:
  • Executive Committee (Vice-Chair)
  • Dalkeith Elementary School
  • Edward Murphy Elementary School
  • Vincent Massey Collegiate
Ward 10
Member of:
  • Executive Committee
  • Comité de gestion de la taxe scolaire de l'île de Montréal
  • East Hill Elementary School
  • Leonardo da Vinci Academy
  • Michelangelo International Elementary School
  • Cité Des Prairies
Parent Commissioner - Secondary Schools
Member of:
  • Governance & Ethics Committee
Parent Commissioner - Elementary Schools
Member of:
  • Executive Committee
  • Governance & Ethics Committee
Parent Commissioner - ACSES
Rosemarie Federico
Parent Commissioner
generic image
Daniel Tatone